## 2014 Atlantic International Chapter of the American Fisheries Society Business Meeting Minutes Quebec City Convention Centre Quebec City, Quebec

## August 18, 2014

- 1) Called to Order at 1612 hours. Sergeant at Arms is Graham Goulette, who determined a quorum was present
- 2) Past Presidents present: Al McNeil, Jud Kratzer, Christine Lipsky, Graham Goulette.
- 3) Treasurer's report—no report.
- 4) Membership Committee no report.
- 5) Student Assistance Committee—Christine Lipsky reported that travel awards were presented to three students, with a value of \$380 each. The recipients were George Maynard, Dan Stich, and Victoria Howse.
- 6) Mike Bailey made a motion to accept minutes from last year's Annual Meeting; Dana DeGraaf seconded.
- 7) Jim Armstrong provided an update on NED activities
  - a. NED raised \$11,000 for the parent society meeting in QC.
  - b. NED's annual meeting is looking for a new "home" since the NEAFWA meeting isn't always within the NED's geographical area. There is the possibility of it co-occurring with a Chapter meeting in the future, but it may also occasionally occur with the NEAFWA meeting.
- 8) Archives Committee Ernie Atkinson sent a report, in which he requested agendas and minutes from past meetings. Everything that is in electronic format he will keep that way.
- 9) Newsletter Committee no report.
- 10) Website—John Magee reported that Tom Bodie is happy to continue dong this as a volunteer. However, this may change if the Chapter decides to switch web programs along with the Parent Society.
- 11) UMaine Subunit Report—The new Subunit President is Dan Weaver and the VP is Lisa Izzo.
- 12) Old Business
  - a. The AIC raised several thousand dollars towards the Annual Meeting, and contributed \$1,000 to NED as part of the fundraising effort.
  - b. It remains to be seen how much revenue the AIC will receive from the meeting.
- 13) Nominating Committee Because the previously elected VP had to step down in 2014, Mike Bailey accepted nominations for all offices: Christine Lipsky selfnominated for Secretary/Treasurer; Scott Pavey and Dana DeGraaf selfnominated for VP, and Ian Kiraly self-nominated for President. The suite of unopposed nominees was approved. A vote for VP resulted in Dana DeGraaf being elected as the new VP.The new ExComm members were ushered by past AIC presidents and photos were taken.

14) New Business:

- a. Graham Goulette presented Mike Bailey with a plaque and thanked him for his service as President.
- b. A new twitter account exists for the Bear Hat, @WhereIsBearHat
- c. Workshop potential (outside of Chapter meetings) was discussed.
- d. Site for the next meeting will be determined by the ExComm, based on the past State/Province rotation.
- e. Mike Bailey read aloud the Resolution for the meeting
- f. Jud Kratzer moved to adjourn the meeting, and Al McNeil seconded.

Submitted, September 10, 2014, Christine Lipsky, Secretary/Treasurer, AIC.